Skip to content

Have you been rescued? Well, have you?

July 1, 2011

Someone sent me a poem today: “I Rescued a Human” about a dog who enticed a woman to adopt her by promising to love her unconditionally. I was rescued by Mokie, who has made good on her promise to me. Thousands of us humans need rescuing. Have you been rescued? Probably not, if you haven’t been to your local animal shelter and met your lifetime best friend in the whole, wide world! Take it from me, one who knows, you need rescuing! Get in there and surrender to the loving sniffs and licks and purrs of the residents who would so much like to rescue you.

I RESCUED A HUMAN TODAY
  
Her eyes met mine as she walked down the corridor peering apprehensively into the kennels.   
I felt her need instantly and knew I had to help her.  
I wagged my tail, not too exuberantly, so she wouldn’t be afraid. 
  
As she stopped at my kennel I blocked her view from a little accident I had in the back of my cage.  
I didn’t want her to know that I hadn’t been walked today.  
Sometimes the shelter keepers get too busy and I didn’t want her to think poorly of them. 
  
As she read my kennel card I hoped that she wouldn’t feel sad about my past.  I only have the future to look forward to and want to make a difference in someone’s life. 
  
She got down on her knees and made little kissy sounds at me.  I shoved my shoulder and side of my head up against the bars to comfort her.  
Gentle fingertips caressed my neck; she was desperate for companionship. 
  
A tear fell down her cheek and I raised my paw to assure her that all would be well.

Soon my kennel door opened and her smile was so bright that I instantly jumped into her arms.  
I would promise to keep her safe.  I would promise to always be by her side.
I would promise to do everything I could to see that radiant smile and sparkle in her eyes.  
I was so fortunate that she came down my corridor.  
So many more are out there who haven’t walked the corridors.  
So many more to be saved.  At least I could save one. 
  
I rescued a human today.

Author Unknown

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 8:31 am

    10 Star beautiful. I think cats actually do think this way. We are blessed by their presence so they think. Arrogant boogers.

  2. July 20, 2011 6:49 am

    Just lovely. Thank you for sharing this Nancy.

    Best to you,
    Barb

  3. Michelle permalink
    August 28, 2011 10:16 am

    Nancy, I think Mokie was one of our luckiest dogs ever to have found you. Thank you so much for bringing attention to this tragic problem in our society and for just being who you are.

    With much love and appreciation,

    Michelle from PAL

  4. September 6, 2011 5:08 pm

    I have shared this post with many.

    I wanted to say I am thinking of you. Hope all is well. Take Care
    Barbara

    • September 7, 2011 8:51 am

      Thank you, Barbara. A lot is going on in my life these days. Hopefully, I can blog about it next week. I’ll try. (FYI, we’re moving the alpaca ranch and ourselves from Idaho to Flagstaff, AZ by Oct. 15. Whew! There’s a lot to that story. Keep me close in your thoughts. ) Love Nancy

  5. January 26, 2013 6:58 am

    This just haddd to be, Nancy!! I have come here after a long long lonnnnnng time, and today too, I am as broken and not-at-peace as I was the last time I came to your blog. This post, also on emotional pets (http://calvy.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/how-do-you-wait-for-someone-who-will-never-return/) I just came to read today and then your blog. I think there is a message for me in this. Maybe I need rescuing.
    By the unconditional love.

    • January 26, 2013 8:54 am

      I’ll be writing you today via email. My sweet Punam. So you’ve come up against more sadness. We will talk. You are my dear friend and I love you sooo very much. I want you so to be at peace and happy.

Leave a Reply

