Skip to content

Just following the rules — in style

February 17, 2011

Here I sit in a lovely lounge in Vancouver, B.C.  sipping English Breakfast tea.  Lots of noise around me — conversations and a little bass from the  background music.  All unobtrusive.  I’m soooo happy.  Happy to be here; happy to be writing; just plain happy.

Yesterday, I got snagged by Barbara as a Stylish Blogger.  Thank you, ma’am!  I’ve been snagged before, back when I was a newbie blogger.  Didn’t know what to do; didn’t want to do it when I found out; so I didn’t.  But thank you anyway, Jane and Wendy.  It’s the thought that counts.  At least your thought. Mine was pretty lame.  I also realize that one must come up with 6 poor souls who must then find 6 poor souls, who must then . . . like a pyramid scheme, isn’t it?

Well, I’m on vacation, so can indulge myself and ask my loving friends to indulge me.  You see, I’m able to get back at Jane and Wendy, drag out JaimeLynn, who may wish to remain anonymous and nudge spirit2go and jevcat. These five women have very dear places in my heart.  If you haven’t visited with them, time’s a wastin’!  You’ll be glad you did — and for very different reasons. 

I’d like to bring Evangeline to the fore — afterall, she’s the reason I blog.  Met her and her lovely man on the streets of Santa Fe, NM, was it two years ago or just last year?  We were photographing the same ancient doors.  She’s a marvelous photographer.  She really captures the heart and soul of New Mexico in her photos.

 And Charles — a poet who continually touches the raw places in my soul.  My dream is that he awaken us all to the things we habitually deny, avoid or run away from. 

The winners of the Stylish blogger are:

PlaneJaner’s Journey at her brand new location

Herding Cats in Hammond

CrazyintheMaking still hidden from stalkers

Evangeline’s Art Photography

Read Between the Mind

This Woman’s Spirit

Jevcat’s Blog

SO HERE ARE THE RULES:    I must list 7 things no one knows about me.  Then choose 6 nominees to pass on the Stylish Blogger Award.  Leave a message for each of the six letting them know I have something for them on my blog. 

  1. I just got my 2nd speeding ticket in my life – 54 in a 35 zone in tiny Rupert, Idaho. Cost me $150. Blech! And to think that will support the small-minded, narrow-visioned, uneducated nincompoops that make up part of our state senate. Glralsch!
  2. I lived in Germany for 6 years as a teen.  Wiesbaden.
  3. My grandmother’s name was Drusilla Victoria.  My grandfather’s name was Cephas Lee.  Both very biblical.
  4. My middle name is Victoria.  My daughter’s middle name is Victoria. My first cousin’s middle name is Victoria and her daughter’s first name is Victoria.  And I have four grandsons.  What happened to the Victoria line?  Must be a secret.  Awwww! And, yes, I have been to Victoria, BC.
  5. I make a delicious Tomato Chutney. Want the recipe?
  6. I flunked my first test ever in Organic Chemistry. A fellow graduate student said I should skip inorganic and go straight into organic.  I listened.  Such hubris!  I marched straight from the test to drop the class.  Yowsa!
  7. I had my first 12-year-old Scotch night before last!  It was yum and petey.

God, I hope that’s all I have to think up.  I’ve taken all these wonderful pictures I wanted to post, and it’s taken me almost 2 hours to do this.  Thanks, Barbara!  Did you hear sarcasm in that? Naw!  I love your ing I’m stylish!

Off to the potty and photos.  See you soon!

N

Greetings from Canada!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 5:02 pm

    🙂
    thanks! I gotta get on this…and share the “love”–have a wonderful trip–and you’re so close to me! (well, sorta…)

    blessings
    jane

    • February 17, 2011 5:48 pm

      Thought about you while I was in the conference Quiet Spot today. Was meditating and thought I should write a counter-blog to your clown meditation. It would be entitled something like” PlaneJaner invades my head!” Kisses– so close and yet so far – but the see air is marvelous! N

  2. February 17, 2011 5:02 pm

    oh, and yes to the chutney recipe.
    🙂
    jane

    • February 17, 2011 5:40 pm

      you got it! As soon as I return. Had some in the hotel restaurant yesterday that was not near good enuf! If I do say so myself! I forgot to let you know I had awarded you. Take this as your notice, please. Love me

  3. February 17, 2011 8:54 pm

    Yah! Links when I am at a real computer and can add them to my reader! You my dear I am deleting from my reader list though. I somehow missed the couple of posts you wrote and that is just not acceptable. So consider yourself deleted, but you should have a new e-mail follower.

    $150 for a speeding ticket is just ridiculous! You weren’t even going 20 over the limit, so in my book you were barely moving. It does make it hurt much more knowing that your money is going to support such an unworthy cause.

    • February 21, 2011 8:13 am

      Yikes, deleted and added in the same breath ! Thanks for your sympathy about the ticket. I grieve the ways I could have much better spent $150. I could have given it to friends!

  4. February 19, 2011 11:19 am

    Thanks again, Nancy…will try to work up something to post over the weekend…just back from babysitting my granddaughter!

    Have fun in Canada!

    Love,
    Wendy

  5. February 19, 2011 1:32 pm

    Ohhh Nancy, now i am upset. You never took up my tag!!! 🙂 he he he. no its okay.

    • February 21, 2011 9:08 am

      No, you’re right. I didn’t. I was trying to think so hard, who had tagged me, and I couldn’t remember. I didn’t know much about what I was doing back then. Not that I know more now!!! You know, doing all that tagging is time consuming. I really appreciate all the time you and the others spent getting me to be stylish. Thank you and Love you! Nancy

  6. February 22, 2011 1:55 pm

    Mom’s middle name in Vincenza, a Sicilian Victoria or female for Vincente.

    • February 22, 2011 9:31 pm

      What a gorgeous name, Vincenza — a Sicilian Victoria – Thank you for letting me know. I’ve never heard it before, Vincente, yes, but, yummy, Vincenza, no. The VICTOR – female style!!!! Nancy

  7. March 11, 2011 10:48 am

    I finally did my homework, Nancy! http://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/i-was-stylish-three-times-in-three-weeks/

    Thanks again for the award!

    Love,
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

