Skip to content

Let’s have another cuppa coffee . . .

January 4, 2011

Yesterday I wrote the following on a comment to my friend Barbara, who describes herself as a “Conversation and Coffee Lover turned Reluctant Blogger,” on her blog Café Conversations Blog:  “As part of my new year’s attempt to lose weight my big dog Moki and I biked over to a friend’s house for a cup of tea today.  As we sat in her living room, I kept feeling like I should get up and go and let her get on with her day, but I just couldn’t. It was soooo nice to just sip and chat and share the moment. As soon as I got home, my ranch helper came in for her morning cup of coffee and we sat and chatted for quite a while. I knew I had tons to do, but the moment and the sharing was just too precious to interrupt. Needless to say, I didn’t get a lot accomplished today, but I am very nourished and content.”

As I researched her blog, I noticed that, although I may not “get” everything she’s blogging about (since I notice in the music she loves that there may be a greaaaat difference in our ages), we have two, no three, no four very important things in common.  We both LOVVVVVVVE coffee and conversation.  (Good coffee and good conversation, I might add.) We love blogging, and WE LOVE LIFE!

Serendipitously, another friend sent me an email this morning with a “movie,”  Life Is Like Coffee, that I can’t download. But you can access by clicking on http://www.flickspire.com/m/Lgroup/LifeIsLikeCoffee.  I really wish I could imbed this in this post.  It’s a lovely video, short and well worth seeing.  Please click.

Stopping to take time for ourselves, each other and breathing,  (and for watching the above video), is like trying to halt a commuter train or a buffalo stampede. We’re so set on our goals, or chores, or duties, or errands, or stuff, we don’t take time to smell the coffee. (Most folks love to smell it, even if they don’t like the taste, right, Lynne?–my tea-drinking pal). We’re so driven these days – driven, crowded, pushed, shoved, impelled, shoulda’d, – that we forget what’s important and necessary, no vital, to our health and well being. 

Please, friends, today–and everyday– give yourselves a wee bit o’ respite.  Wedge into your day a moment to breathe, sniff, sigh, hum, share, hug, relish, enjoy, the flavor, the savoriness, the sweetness that’s everywhere, yes, even among the heater filters, dust kittens, grease blobs, cat boxes, and trash cans of life.  Let’s have another cuppa coffee, yes, let’s have a cup of  . . .•⁄‘  •⁄‘  •⁄‘

Love,

Nancy

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine Rice permalink
    January 4, 2011 9:51 am

    Thanks for the reminder! As I enjoy my day off and the kids have returned to school, I will pause and take a few extra minutes from my day to stop and smell the coffee~ Christine

    • January 4, 2011 10:18 am

      So nice to hear from you, Christine. I’ll enjoy thinking of you on your day off! Hope it’s restful and inspiring. Nancy

  2. January 4, 2011 11:13 am

    Dear friend, Well you are so very kind to mention my little blog in your post. I am making a concerted effort to slow down and just breathe. As for my music, I like everything from Bach to Bon Jovi to Bocelli. No rap! Music is about emotions, almost always happy, therfore I love it. Strangely I do not listen as much in the past few years. I shall follow your gentle advice and take more time for me. As for age. Actually we are probably very close….39 right?
    Barbara

  3. January 4, 2011 12:32 pm

    I’m a tea-drinker, too, Nancy. I remember years ago when I was doing a community newsletter for the West Side of Saint John…I had a chance to interview a local artist about twenty years my senior. She lived in an old cottage filled with plants, animals, and art. I was there for four hours, chatting and drinking tea. She gave me two different kinds of aloe vera plants to take with me…I still have them more than five years later. I still have fond memories of that afternoon…

    Off to check out Barbara’s blog!

    Love,
    Wendy

  4. planejaner permalink
    January 4, 2011 12:34 pm

    Nancy–
    good reminder…
    now…just to implement it (without the guilt I always seem to feel when I sit…for myself by myself with myself…what if soemone needs something? what if I didn’t finish the chores…)
    I do need to take time for myself!
    jaen

    • January 4, 2011 2:39 pm

      Tomorrow my blog will be on compulsory yoga! Me

Leave a Reply

