Skip to content

“Oh, that there were a mosque by every Christian church in this country!”

August 27, 2010

I read a post today that has moved me in my core.  My title today is a line from that post. The author,  smalltownbiglife, wrote from her depths an essay on her wishes for a peaceful way to be — through acceptance, grace, love and prayer.  I applaud her ability to put into words her longing for a more mindful, open-minded world.  She includes in her post the following thoughts on acceptance:

Acceptance is not tolerance. Acceptance is not agreement. Acceptance means finding beauty in dedication, whether it is a Mennonite woman reading Scripture to her children at bedtime or a Native American christening a harvest field with dance or a group of people desiring to build something sacred upon something already sacred. Acceptance is sharing our sacred space, not watering down the meaning of the words, but creating more white space for more words to exist peacefully. Acceptance is opening our eyes to another’s spirit, to what is beautiful about that person’s walk, that person’s life.

Excerpted from smalltownbiglife.

Please go and read her post.  Please, don’t scan it.  Don’t hurry through it.  She is a mouthpiece for what we all need to learn and practice.  She is teaching us from her center something very important.

Thank you for taking the time to read her: smalltownbiglife.

Nancy

Is that so very bad? Think: I love my neighbor as myself!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 10:36 am

    Thanks, Nancy…we need to practice tolerance and acceptance so very much. There’s room for all and abundance for all. I am so grateful that I see this now and wonder how I went 50+ years not realizing – I guess you’d call it having blinders on!

    • August 28, 2010 6:35 am

      I call it having my head in the sand. I don’t particularly like how like an ostrich I am. Just in case you didn’t get to read it, there is a comment and quote by noflightplan. I think you’ll like it. You know, there really is some truth to the fact that the older can be wiser – it’s true in my case. Scales falling from my eyes, slowly, painfully, but surely. Thank God!

      I’m so glad you’re my friend.
      Nancy

  2. August 27, 2010 8:52 pm

    The human and the divine co-existing at the same time is real religion. This creates honest people, people who don’t waste time proving they’re right, superior, or saved, but just try to live and love the mystery that they are.(Rohr)

    Great post and reminds me of this quote….

    • August 28, 2010 6:30 am

      This is an incredible quote. Thank you so much for giving it to me. Am I wrong to assume that it’s Richard Rohr???? My wish is that we all may co-exist in the Delicious Soup of the Divine TOGETHER – peacefully, compassionately, in the fullness of the Love that we ALL are.

      Thank you so much for your comment. Please stay in touch and keep sharing your wisdom.

      Nancy

Leave a Reply

