Skip to content

The hole

August 10, 2010

We have a hole in our screen door.  It is no ordinary hole. Here is its story:

In the beginning, the screen was without flaw. It stretched across the threshold separating in from out, out from in.  It was good.

On cold days it slid left and revealed a windowed door that also separated in from out, out from in, hot from cold and cold from hot. This window became the opening that allowed those that were out to see those that were in. And vice versa.  As time went on, the glass became smudged with nose and paw prints of all shapes and sizes. The dogs, and there were four tiny ones and one large one, announced their desire to pass through the portal by alternating their paws, rhythmically against the glass, “Scritch, scritch, scritch, scritch, scritch.”  Pretty soon, the dogs taught one cat to indicate his wishes likewise. “Screech, screech, screech, screech, screech” as claws raked against the glass.  Angus taught Ballou; Ballou taught Skeeter; Skeeter taught Scat; Scat taught Alice. However, Alice could not teach Amelia, for Amelia had no claws.

In the spring and fall, when the glass door was kept open to allow breezes to cool the house, the screen was closed to prevent flies and mosquitoes from bedeviling the occupants.  Cats and dogs, however, did not cease their requests to come in or go out. Their people got up, sat down, got up, sat down, to open the door to slide the screen to let the animals come in and go out, go out and come in. Open, shut, open, shut.  This was NOT good.

Slowly but surely, over years of scratching and screeching, the screen weakened with wear.  Eventually a hole appeared. Then another.  Then another.  With each scritch and screech, the holes widened until one day, lo and behold, there was no barrier between in and out  and out and in. Behold, the doggy door!  No more open, shut, open, shut. No more in and out, out and in. Now, the cats and dogs had free reign of inside and the outside.  It was good!

But, the flies and mosquitoes had free reign of the outside and inside as well. It was NOT good!

In the  6th month of the 6th year the Grandboys arrived.  “What is that hole in the screen?” they inquired of their grandmother.  “Well, darling boys, it is our doggy door, for going in and out, out and in.”  The Grandboys marveled. They had never seen such a thing. As they failed to hear the word “doggy,” the hole soon became their favorite portal for going in and out and out and in. Needless to say, the hole enlarged to satisfy its new purpose. And, well, it was sort of good.

In the 7th month of the 6th year, after the Grandboys had departed, the Grandmother awoke one morning.  She exited her sleeping chamber, and Lo! and Behold!, there on the carpet lay five white alpacas. “Oh, my!” she gasped.  She tiptoed to find her camera, and proceeded to take a million pictures from every angle imaginable. It was a marvel and a wonder!  Five alpacas cushed on her carpet, comfortably chewing their cud.  It was sooo good.

Alas and alack, the Grandmother, being weak of mind and short of technology, deleted the pictures before downloading them. That was certainly NOT good.

Needless to say, the hole enlarged to fit the beast who stooped to enter to sit on the floor and chew its cud that met the dog who barked and snarled and panicked the paca who ran for the door and ripped the screen to get to the other side.

The Grandmother purchased a new roll of screen to repair the door. But she could not deny these creatures entry into her house because they were so dang cute.  Furthermore, she was wont to resume the up and down, down and up to open the door for in and out, out and in.  So, the roll of new screen will remain for generations unto generations, unopened and unused. And the animals will continue to go in and out and out and in. And the mosquitoes and flies, well, you know. . .  It is both good and bad.

As it has evolved for years, this hole is now complete.  Its purpose is realized. It is whole and in its glory: a glory hole, a wholly holy, whole hole. And it is very good.

The glory hole

Out

In

Out

In

In

Out

12 Comments leave one →
  1. planejaner permalink
    August 10, 2010 10:39 am

    Nancy–I felt like I was sitting at your feet while you read a good book, I in my jammies with footed feeties…safe and secure and OH SO HAPPY when the alpacas came in.
    you have made my entire, flippin’ day!
    blessings
    jane

    • August 10, 2010 11:02 am

      They were really precious, so curious. I’ll put in some more pictures, after I let the outside ones out into the field. I’m having trouble getting work done because I’m having so much fun. BTW, I updated the post with a new visitor that came in today and I took out. Alice discovered him (her) in the dining area.

      Glad you’re happy, my friend. I love to hear that.

      You are my blessing.
      Nancy

  2. August 10, 2010 10:48 am

    :~) :~) :~) hahahahah

    Too FUNNY!
    I have fallen in love with alpacas – have never thought of them before your posts

    • August 10, 2010 11:04 am

      Uh-oh! That’s pretty dangerous. That’s what happened to me. BTW, had a new baby Sunday. I’ll have to get pics of him loaded too!
      Thanks for loving them. They’ve had a really hard history as a species, and they need to be loved.
      Nancy

  3. August 10, 2010 1:32 pm

    This story made me giggle (and wish we had a “doggy door”)…I swear that Jake waits until I sit down at my computer before deciding he desparately needs to go outside (there can be four other people in the living room, and he’ll come to me)! We don’t have a screen door on the back, just a regular inside door with glass that allows him to look outside at his buddies, the chipmunks and squirrels!

    Love your babies!

    Wendy

    • August 10, 2010 2:08 pm

      Josie is just like Jake, but from the other side of the door. As I’m going toward my computer, she wants out. Then, just as I sit down, it’s Yip! Yip! Yip!.

      Will download more pics. I played hookie this morning and took more pics of the animals.
      N

  4. August 10, 2010 2:17 pm

    Nancy! LOVE this! I’ve been gone for a while but what fun to come back and find this story. I’m with Jane – you could make a really fun kid’s book out of this. I can see it already. (there’s a conference in denver for kid’s books if you want to come. 🙂 – julie

    • August 10, 2010 4:32 pm

      Hey, Julie! I didn’t know you were the armchair philosopher. What a treat to know that! When is the conference???? I have another original story I told at toastmasters and won a little trophy. I love these kinds of things — that is, when I’m in the mood.

      Glad you’re back.
      N

  5. August 13, 2010 12:35 pm

    Nancy, you are a great storyteller…love those pictures as well:)

    • August 13, 2010 4:59 pm

      Thank you, Dave. I’ll introduce you to my inside family soon. They’ve all been very photogenic. I’ve just been pounding the pavement for Relay for Life this week. Next Saturday it’ll be all over for another year. You’ll probably get an intrusive, but heartfelt email from me. This is your warning.
      Nancy

  6. August 22, 2010 8:18 am

    What a wonderful story! The pictures are beautiful.

    • nancy permalink*
      August 22, 2010 7:38 pm

      Thank you, Karen. So nice to have you reading it. I subscribed to your blog and think we could be good blog buddies. We seem to think the same way and appreciate beauty to our core. I’ll look forward to reading more of you.

      Nancy

Leave a Reply

