Skip to content

Don’t use your head

August 6, 2010

One reader commented on yesterday’s post:

Nancy!! Everything went over my head!! Is Juliana a character in the poem that you read? I’ve not heard about the author. Who is Sophia?

Here is my response:

I guess this post was intended to “go over” the reader’s  “head.”  It didn’t come out of my head, but my heart.  It isn’t to be logicked out.  It’s a soul piece, as is Thomas Merton’s, though I would never compare myself to his depth of wisdom.

Here are some things that might help.  Thomas Merton was a contemplative monk living in Kentucky and for a time in the far east.  He has written exquisite pieces, particularly, New Seeds of Contemplation, and this poem about Hagia Sophia.  His ability to touch into his own God Presence was (is) very inspiring.  He is one of my teachers.  I quoted him on one of my first blogs as well.

Hagia Sophia, (Greek for Holy Wisdom), is to me the all-embracing, all-encompassing feminine Presence that is fills us with such love we almost burst.  She is Our Mother of Compassion. She is Our Tenderness, Our Gentle Strength, Our Forgiveness and Forgivenness. She births us into God.  She is Our Salve and Our Comfort. She is Our Beloved.

Evidently, Hagia Sophia visited Merton in a dream one night enabling him to write the epic poem to her.  When you read it, you will get a sense of what She is.

Hagia Sophia is also the name of an incredible edifice in Istanbul that was built in early Christianity. It’s Christian trappings have all been destroyed over the centuries to convert it into a mosque which it is today. Its architecture makes it one of the most beautiful building in the world.

Juliana is an 8-month-old alpaca baby whom I bottle fed for over 6 months.  She’s been weaned but still waits expectantly for me to come to the barn.  I let her out to get some extra grain and she hangs around me like a special friend when I do my barn work.  Where most alpacas back off when approached, Juliana welcomes embraces and kisses on her velvety nose and lips.  She’s a doll!

Hope this helps.
Love
Nancy

Juliana (below) and her wonderful mom, Ariadne; They're cushed (lying down) next to each other in the pen. They're very attached to each other.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 11:07 am

    Let me be the first to say it…alpacas have the cutest noses ever! (and I also admit that your post yesterday was completely over my head)…

    Hugs,
    Wendy

  2. August 6, 2010 1:31 pm

    Sorry, Wendy. I was doing my Morning Pages and that just happened.

    Wish I could offer you a nose to kiss. I’m going out right now to bottle feed “Wrangeler.” I’ll kiss him for you.

  3. August 6, 2010 11:32 pm

    Hi Nancy, OK.. now I know who Juliana is. Thanks for clarifying. And yes, she is very cute.

Leave a Reply

