Skip to content

Hooray! Prop 8 is dead!

August 4, 2010

If you don’t know by now, I am a gay marriage advocate.  I’m thrilled that Chief U.S. District Judge Vaughn Walker ruled to overturn California’s Proposition 8.  He said at the conclusion of the 136-page ruling:

“Proposition 8 fails to advance any rational basis in singling out gay men and lesbians for denial of a marriage license.”

Furthermore, he says:

[T]he evidence shows that proposition 8 does nothing more than enshrine in the California Constitution the notion that opposite-sex couples are superior to same-sex couples.

Finally,  in remarking about the evidence presented by Prop 8 proponents in the two-week trial, he wrote that:

The evidence at trial regarding the campaign to pass Proposition 8 uncloaks the most likely explanation for its passage:  a desire to advance the belief that opposite-sex couples are morally superior to same-sex couples. (italics mine)

He again states elsewhere in his decision:

Moral disapproval alone is an improper basis on which to deny rights to gay men and lesbians. The evidence shows conclusively that Proposition 8 enacts, without reason, a private moral view that same-sex couples are inferior to opposite-sex couples. (italics mine)

He therefore ruled that:

[B]ecause California has no interest in discriminating against gay men and lesbians . . . and because Proposition 8 prevents California from fulfilling its constitutional obligation to provide marriage on an equal basis, it is unconstitutional. (italics mine)

I’m ecstatic!  As far as I’m concerned — THIS IS THE MORAL HIGH GROUND. And I’m not alone in this opinion.

All the arguments for and against Prop 8 were made in the trial.  If you want, you can see them all in the PDF copy of the ruling at http://msnbcmedia.msn.com/i//MSNBC/Sections/NEWS/A_U.S.%20news/Life/gaymarriage.pdf.

I’m not interested (FYI, this blog is not a democracy, sorry!) in debating the issue, nor am I interested in telling you all the ins and outs of why this is so important to me.  I simply want you, dear reader, to know that it is.  Saying this out loud in public is part of my embracing my Self with a capital S  AND embracing my brothers and sisters who have been denied the ability to live together in love as Curt and I have.  My heart has always said, “This is WRONG!”

I’m going to include several comments listed in the MSNBC announcement of the ruling that I found a propos.  I do not intend to include comments that besmirch this ruling or even rail against it.  I am opinionated, yes, and this is MY blog!  Why should I be “fair” to those that have been so unfair.

The astute and justified comments are:

Judges are not supposed to do what is ‘popular. ‘ They are supposed to do what is legally correct.  In this case, the people were wrong.

We are a constitutional republic.  The rights of the minority should never be voted upon by the majority!

People are born gay just as people can be born heterosexual or stupid.

Grow up people!  Gay people have been here way before anyone of us were even born.

Gay people have just as much rights to happiness, marriage and all the other baggage that comes along with it.

The Constitution guarantees the right to Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.

The Pledge [of Allegiance that]  we live by states “With Liberty and Justice for All.”  This is not hard, people.

If you don’t like same sex marriage, don’t enter into one. If you don’t like abortion, don’t have one. This list is endless.

The freedom of religion in the First Amendment only guarantees to you your beliefs as they apply to YOURSELF. They are not the right to be a bigot, racist, misogynist or anything else that tries to deprive the rights of others.

Hopefully America as a whole can start thinking logically and stop listening to bible beaters and “holy” rollers about issues regarding basic human rights.  Much as we condemn other countries for the way that they treat certain citizens as if they were second or third class, America does it continually.  It’s always the religious section of the population that is attempting to withhold rights from everyone that is “different”.   Sexual orientation is a person’s right and denying them the basic rights afforded everyone else is discrimination pure and simple. There is no logical reason to deny marriage to gay couples. There are however, mountains of pig-headed, narrow minded, religious gobbledy-gook that attempt to justify persecution of a section of society.

There you have it.  I couldn’t have said it better myself.  If you choose to unsubscribe from my blog, I wish you well, and I wish you a heart  full of compassion for others.  If you choose to stay in here with me, hang on, I’m rolling now.  This could be the ride of your life.  Let’s get cracking, and may we  find peace in our hearts to spread to all others, especially the proponents of Prop 8.

Nancy

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Barricklow permalink
    August 4, 2010 6:39 pm

    Whoo-hoo! This is the best news I’ve had in a long time! Thanks for posting this, Nancy! You’ve made my week. 🙂

    • August 4, 2010 9:30 pm

      Oh, Jennifer, I’m so glad! It is wonderful news and I so admire the way Judge Vaughn wrote his decision. If you haven’t read it, it’s very enlightening.

      Thank you! Thank you!

  2. Emilie permalink
    August 4, 2010 8:33 pm

    I just love your guts to death, Nancy! Your advocacy is refreshing and shines like the promises seen in a newly formed rainbow.

    • August 4, 2010 9:36 pm

      What a beautiful thing to say, Emmy! Thank you, sweet lady.

      Hey! I miss seeing you and being with you. BTW, I’m preaching at Metro CC Sep 5 and 12. Think you could come?

      Love you, girl!
      Nancy

      • Emilie permalink
        August 5, 2010 3:46 pm

        Got those dates on my schedule. What time? 1:00 PM or 2:00 PM?

  3. August 5, 2010 5:36 am

    Hey, Nancy…I think this is great! I’m glad they saw the light in California! Gay marriage has been legal in Canada for a while now. Jim and I both have several gay friends.

    I’m about to start today’s post, which will be called “Crazy Eights.”

    Wendy

    • August 5, 2010 6:50 am

      Can’t wait to read it! Thanks for celebrating with me.
      Nancy

  4. August 22, 2010 10:06 am

    I LOVE this post. Thank you!!

    • August 22, 2010 11:33 am

      You’re soooo very welcome. I believe in this to the bottom of my heart. I just wish California would get on with it.
      Nancy

    • September 14, 2010 7:09 am

      I just saw that I never responded to you. You’re very welcome. Nancy

Trackbacks

  1. Crazy Eights… « Herding Cats in Hammond River

Leave a Reply

