Skip to content

I was kissed by a damselfly. We’re engaged now!

August 1, 2010

While swimming in Hayden Lake this past week, my daughter, Christina and I were visited many times by male damselflies as we floated in our hot pink floaties with cup holders.  (No one took pictures of us, thank goodness. However, I bet I can dig one up that I took of her.) These lovely creatures have lacey black wings and bright turquoise  bodies, eyes and tails.

Vivid dancer

While Christina and I floated and chatted, a particularly bold  male landed on her knee. Each time she’d move her hand, he would startle and fly off a ways. But he’d return, again and again, each time braving her movements for longer and longer periods.  She spoke little sweet things to him, and evidently convinced him that she meant him no harm.

Later, as I rested my hand and arm on my floatie, another friend landed on my ring finger – left hand. He sat there like a dazzling piece of turquoise, more beautiful than any I’ve ever seen.  Even though I have tiny hairs on my fingers, he was so light I never felt him.  I am very privileged to have such a lovely live ring.  He moved lower on my finger and allowed me to move him like a parakeet through the air so Christina could see him.  We sat there for quite a while until another aggressive damselfly chased him away. Perhaps this was Christina’s friend thinking he was the only one allowed to own humans. Who knows?  Alas and alak! My fiance did not return.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 2:44 pm

    Ahhhhhhh, what a Beauty!
    It’s always exciting when they notice us!

  2. August 1, 2010 2:50 pm

    It really was exciting, Arlene! I have to admit, when the one sat on Christina’s knee, I was jealous, hoping, hoping that one would find me worthy, too. Whew! You’d think I’d sit back and be thrilled that she had such a sweet blessing. But noooooo. I have to want one, too! Thank goodness my greediness didn’t send out “wibes” that precluded my blessing.

  3. August 1, 2010 2:55 pm

    Hi Nancy:

    I’m so happy you’re back!

    We have these damselflies on our river too…we often see them when we’re out in the canoe.

    Wendy

    • August 1, 2010 3:11 pm

      I wish I could go canoeing on a river more often. I really enjoyed my time on the lake. So relaxing and rejuvenating.

  4. August 2, 2010 5:01 am

    Nancy, I am glad you had a good holiday! And the dragon fly looks beautiful. I’m sure he ran away to let all his friends know about his engagement. 🙂

    • August 2, 2010 7:01 am

      What a nice idea! Thank you, Punam. He is beautiful, isn’t he?

  5. tekia permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:55 am

    What a beautiful and intriguing creature!

    • August 2, 2010 11:53 am

      And gentle, too!
      Tekia, I’m behind on your posts. Will catch up soon.
      N

  6. planejaner permalink
    August 2, 2010 1:38 pm

    Nancy–I think I would have flipped out…let him find another lover, and leave me alone.
    true.
    so true.

    kisses
    jane

    • August 2, 2010 2:15 pm

      Were you raised like Laura, (see her comment on “Look what I saw today!”) to see dragonflies as the Devil’s Darning Needle? I forgot to mention in my blog that this particular damselfly has another name: vivid dancer. That’s all he is, dear Jane, a dancer, dancing on my finger and Christina’s knee. That’s all. Just a dance. A lovely dance. Tsk! Tsk!

      • August 2, 2010 2:16 pm

        P.S. He’s the same color as your butterfly AND as iridescent!

  7. planejaner permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:19 pm

    Nancy–
    I have a lovely blue morpho butterfly on my back…blue, too…of course.
    still, don’t want a real damselfly on me.
    i am indeed a wuss.
    jane

  8. planejaner permalink
    August 2, 2010 10:20 pm

    blue morpho tattoo…should have said that part.
    jane

  9. August 2, 2010 10:43 pm

    I figured.

Leave a Reply

