Skip to content

Look what I saw yesterday!

July 21, 2010

A 12-spotted skimmer

Yesterday I saw this type of dragonfly in my garden. He/she didn’t hang around very long, but it was there. 

After reading Arlene’s piece on dragonflies http://spirit2go.wordpress.com/2010/07/07/a-symbol-in-shamanism-for-transformation-and-seeing-in-a-new-light/ I went searching on the  dragonflywebsite.com/gallery/index.htm   to see if I could identify my dragonfly.  Here it is.  Since I didn’t have my camera, I’ve lifted this picture from the website so you could see what I saw.  It was taken by Marcia Perry of Genoa, Illinois.  Isn’t he/she splendid?

I hope I have time tomorrow to talk about what seeing the dragonfly might mean to me.  I really do believe that creatures come to announce something to us.  For instance, in Arizona, every time Curt and I saw a cardinal, we knew it was an auspicious occasion.  Each time a blue heron flies overhead, I feel I’ve been really blessed.  And hawks and eagles, well, that’s magnificence.

I know dragonflies have been really popularized in the last years, especially due to Kevin Costner’s movie about them. I see them everywhere in jewelry, on shower curtains and towels.  I don’t want them to become pedestrian as symbols. I want to continue to believe, like Arlene, that they are harbingers of some message of transformation or discovery. 

As Curt and I head up to northern Idaho this weekend for a week’s vacation, I’ll watch for dragonflies.  But even more than that, I will be watching for my own blessings of transformation already heralded by my friend the 12-spotted skimmer.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 6:30 am

    I like dragonflies too, Nancy…we see them a lot around here with the river so close by. Anna and Brianna freed one the other day that was caught in the net of our trampoline. My other favourite bug is beetles!

    Wendy

    • July 22, 2010 8:50 am

      Ah! The scarab! I know there must be lots of lore and symbolism in those curious creatures, Wendy. Wonder what spirit2go (Arlene) would have to say about beetles. Hmmm?

  2. July 24, 2010 1:28 pm

    keep spirit & Blog walking 🙂

  3. July 27, 2010 3:59 am

    I feel a special connection when I see hawks and eagles, as well.

    As kids we used to call dragonflies “Devil’s Darning Needles.” We were frightened of them and thought if we got stung by one we would die. Childhood fears seem so silly once we become adults.

    • August 1, 2010 2:01 pm

      Thanks, Laura. Hawks are very special to me and eagles to my husband. We just got back from a week in northern Idaho on Hayden Lake. Each morning a bald eagle would leave his nest and fly landward. Each evening he’d return, circle our little inlet then fly to wherever he nests. He was a sight to behold.

      Thank you so much for telling me about the “Devil’s Darning Needles.” It’s a precious story to know. I’m so glad you shared it with me.

      I visited your blog for just a minute, and I’m so happy to be in touch with you. We women connect with each other on such profoundly simple, but exquisite ways. I’m so happy to see your award recipients. You just gave me many more women to visit. I’m delighted. I look forward to your posts. Congratulations on your book.

      Nancy

Leave a Reply

