Skip to content

Milt n Birl

June 2, 2010

Just had to share my new family members.

Birl the first day home

Birl is a baby turkey that was given to me by our local feed store owner. He/she (not knowing if a boy or  girl, hence Birl) was being picked on by the other baby turkeys because he/she had a bum leg. I begged the owner to remove him/her so s/he wouldn’t be killed. He gladly obliged, but said he’d take it/she/him out back to put down. When I asked if she/he/it (sh**??)  might respond to some love and care, he gave Birl to me along with some shavings and a little feed.

Yesterday, I went back to buy some shavings and feed and, lo and behold, there was Milt, a baby wood duck who had been brought in by someone. He (again, I don’t know gender, but I’m tired of stringing pronouns together) was “housed” or should I say “tubbed” with a hoard of baby chukkers who were petrified of him. Every time he’d try to snuggle up, they’d panic and scatter. So, I brought him home to live with Birl.

Birl and Milt as friends

Now, Birl’s legs splay. He motates (is that a word?) by flapping his wings and manages to get around his cage quite nicely. Only thing, he about beats poor Milt to death.

Note Birl's leg out behind him

So Milt has learned to hover  in the corner until Birl is settled, then scoots over and snuggles up, peeping sweetly.

Snuggled again.

Oh, Birl, I love you.

I will try to figure out today how to splint Birl’s legs. I have downloaded turkey anatomy pictures – both muscular and skeletal – that might be useful. If not, since a friend of mine had a one-legged turkey that walked her to the bus, perhaps we will have a no-legged turkey that hangs out with alpacas. That follows logically, doesn’t it?

But mind you – all of you –  (Curt are you listening?) NO ONE – and I mean NO ONE – is going to eat Birl, even if garlic and lemon are appealing. (That was the vet’s suggestion – Ptui!)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Whalen permalink
    June 2, 2010 10:29 am

    Well, at least you didn’t fish them out of a rain gutter this time!!! LOL
    Love you lady. This is so like you to rescue poor little lost critters.

  2. June 2, 2010 12:04 pm

    I’ve missed you, Nancy! Hope you can figure out a way to make Birl ambulatory…fun photos!

    Wendy

    • June 2, 2010 3:53 pm

      Hi Wendy. I’m missing you, too. I’m so far behind reading, but have saved every post of us women.

      Can’t say I’m really back yet, but I had such a terrible longing to connect with you all that I just had to write this morning!

  3. tekia permalink
    June 3, 2010 1:51 pm

    glad there is someone who cares enough to take them in. These are wonderful photos and Birl and Milt are just too cute. They’ll lean on each other for support no doubt. Animals have a way of doing that. Stay blessed:-)

    • June 3, 2010 7:16 pm

      Thanks, Tekia. So nice to be back in touch with my writing friends. I’m way behind in my reading, but please know that I will eventually catch up. I love your poetry and look forward to spending moments with you.

      Nancy

  4. June 3, 2010 6:46 pm

    Oh how sweet! They look so precious all snuggled up together.

    So glad to have you back even just occasionally. I have been missing reading you. I checked just last week to make sure I was still subscribed to your feed since it has been so quiet over here. I kept telling myself I was going to send you an email to make sure you were okay, but somehow never got around to it. It’s the thought that counts though right? 🙂

    • June 3, 2010 7:14 pm

      Right! Don’t ever hesitate, tho, to send that email. And thanks for your thoughts. I’m so far behind in my reading, but I WILL read your posts and comment accordingly. It’s my greatest pleasure!

  5. Christine Rice permalink
    June 6, 2010 4:50 am

    So cute, Nancy! I especially love the one where they’re snuggled up together. Looking forward to updates and photos as they grow! Thanks for sharing.

  6. smalltownbiglife permalink
    June 9, 2010 1:10 pm

    What a striking pair these two are! Love the name “Birl.”

Leave a Reply

