Skip to content

A triple header — Whew!

May 1, 2010

Haven’t had much time to write, but life has been full. Here’s why:

Goldheart, born 10:30 p.m. April 28 at the vet.

Perfectly Lovely, born after midnight, April 29 at the vet.

Claro Que Si, born yesterday at 5:30 p.m. while I was at the vet.

The two at the vet were ones we were worried about, but their delivery was normal. Goldheart is lusty and playful, Perfectly Lovely is just that, and Claro Que Si is still a little awkward, but nursing well. I got up twice during the night to make sure he was finding the teats. He was a trooper.  

So, that’s all the babies for now. Two more due, one a few days overdue and and one due Wednesday. It’s chilly so they may hold them a while. It’s wonderful to have all 6 babies healthy and on the ground!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. stormiie permalink
    May 1, 2010 6:46 pm

    What adorable little fellows you have there! Thanks for sharing the wonderful baby photos! That just made my day after the nightmare soil testing I did.

    I guess I’m just clueless but what do you do with all that fur?

    • May 1, 2010 8:46 pm

      I stack it in boxes in my barn! I’ve just now decided that I want to send it away to have yarn made. I’ve found really nice mills in Salt Lake City and Colorado that I’ll give a try soon. Also have all the coarse fiber that I hope to have made into rugs. Why? Do you spin?

      Please tell me about your nightmare soil testing. Was it for your garden? I’m really interested because I know our soil is very high in clay. In fact I’ve been tempted to go dig up some mud holes in places and make some pots.

      Nancy

      • stormiie permalink
        May 2, 2010 4:39 pm

        Just curious mostly. I do knit on the rare occasion, mostly just scarfs too hot for anything else really.

        Yes the soil testing was for the garden. The tests were relatively cheap, about $4 each. The first test I did, the stuff you put in the tube was slightly damaged so I didn’t trust the test and went out and bought a second one. The second test had the exact same results. Extremely low in Nitrogen and Phosphorous and low in Potassium and a Ph over 8.0. Not good for growing anything.

        It’s going to be hard to get the soil into shape with only organic additives.

        Our soil is really bad due to the huge pipes that were laid down before the house was bought. The texture of the soil is nice, just no nutrients in it. I guess I’m lucky with that, most of the area does have a lot of clay in the soil.

        Still I’m keeping my hopes high! I really want a nice garden this summer!

        Take care of your new babies! They are SO adorable!

      • May 2, 2010 10:02 pm

        Is there any chance that someone near you raises alpacas? Their poop is glorious for enriching soil. It can be put directly on plants and doesn’t have to be composted (unless it’s got a lot of wet pee in it.) Also, I started a worm farm to create compost out of my wet garbage. They’ve done pretty nicely over the winter and have multiplied. If you google, red worms, or compost worms or vermiculture (I think) you can learn about them. It will work especially well as you harvest your garden and have lots of organic stuff to put into your compost pile and also to till under as you overwinter. I’m going to try to use the really coarse alpaca fiber for mulch this summer. Then I think I can just till it under in the winter and let it compost. Wish I could share some of my acres of poop with you.

        Nancy

  2. smalltownbiglife permalink
    May 2, 2010 6:39 am

    Adorable and all other such synonyms…I want one! Not sure where I would put him, but still…

  3. planejaner permalink
    May 2, 2010 8:27 am

    too cute. Their eyes look like limpid pools of forgiveness.
    jane

    • May 2, 2010 9:37 am

      Oooh, I like that. Would that we all had eyes of forgiveness.

      Nancy

  4. Jennifer Barricklow permalink
    May 4, 2010 9:39 am

    Congratulations, ‘paca Grand Mamma! Thanks for sharing the lovely pictures. All those legs!!

    • May 4, 2010 10:20 am

      Thanks, Jennifer. Nice to hear from you. And thanks for the moniker: ‘paca Grand Mamma. Love it!

      Nancy, the ‘paca Grand Mamma

Leave a Reply

