Skip to content

To be known

February 24, 2010

Marion Woodman said:

“Whether we understand it or not, 

sometimes we  know

that Someone is moving us. 

 To  know this  is to be known.”

From Coming Home to Myself: Reflections for Nurturing a Woman’s Body & Soul, Marion Woodman and Jill Mellick, Conari Press, 2000.

We are all known, we just don’t always realize it. If we’re still, quiet, listening, we can catch a glimpse of the “Someone” who knows us. We catch it in a quick intake of breath or a sigh that we barely knew we sighed.  Or we feel it in the soft nose of an alpaca when we steal a kiss, or in the exuberance of baby alpacas pronking around open spaces.  The mistyness of a rainy morning moistens our breath; the sun shining finally in the spring warms us to the bone. This is evidence of the Someone who knows us. How beautiful to know I am known. If I can’t know that, then I suffer, and am condemned to endless rounds of suffering and death, until I know I am known. That sounds pretty melodramatic, but I think it’s pretty accurate. My job is to seek Whatever is moving me, pushing me, lulling me, teasing me. And to say, finally, I may not understand, but I get it! Thank you and yes!

This is Knowing you're Known!!This is dusty work!

Let's go!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. planejaner permalink
    February 25, 2010 12:48 pm

    I like this! Thank you for sharing it here. I always feel beautiful under the gaze of that Someone. Fully known, fully accepted, gifted with love beyond measure, if I but…relax and confidently reach for what I know is freely given.
    (i like your new layout! nice work, lady!)
    jane

Leave a Reply

